Tuesday, April 5, 2011

The Reluctant Role Model


Wayne Rooney’s bizarre potty mouth celebration that saw him scream into a live TV camera after he completing his hat-trick against West Ham. Was admittedly ill advised but it certainly wasn’t the apocalyptic rant that particular sections of the media would have you believe. One or two of the more sensationalist amongst the media (daily mail) argue that he's brought the whole respect campaign to it’s knees, I’m afraid that un-welcomed stain rests entirely at the door of the FA. They’re shown no courage in punishing offenders, concerned more with media rights and money making. Which has resulted in no significant bans for high profile players who blatantly disregard the campaign Thus we’ve made little or no progress into what will only become a bigger problem in football.

With that said Rooney outburst wasn’t aim at the referee. So this is not an attempt to defend or justify Rooney rant but more to understand why and apply rational thought and perspective to the incident.
Undoubtedly Rooney was subject to a torrent of abuse from the West Ham fans. Though this is nothing new and indeed he would expect to be on the receiving end of the less than flattering chants at ever away ground in the country. What makes Saturday’s game different to others was that United went 2 nil. Now applying to the logic you only sing when you’re winning these chants would have only increased. Cue Rooney almost single handily dragging United back into the game that culminated (for him), in a Penalty that completed what was to be a match winning hat-trick. Regardless of the amount of money you earn no-one like being called a so and so and reminded of previous misdemeanours regardless of how comical or eloquently there’re sung. So after scoring it’s quite possible that Rooney released some of that pent up aggression that I’m sure the chanting had contributed to. Celebrating with the United away support he left a partly gesture to the West Ham fan via a live Sky TV camera. Stupid, foolish and vulgar but lest we forget who we’re dealing with. All three adjectives could be use if describing Rooney to a footballing novice. But so could Brilliant, inspiring and gifted. I think Rooney has and will continue to grow as a person. All his indiscretions have been made in public. He is paid handsomely but that does not exempt him from making mistakes.

Rooney is undoubtedly a role model, but If you were to hand pick any public figure to be a role model for your kid, I’m fairly confident that Wayne Rooney wouldn’t be a the top of your list. Or maybe he would, to the poorer working class families maybe he’s the perfect role model, evidence that if you couple hard work with talent you can accomplish anything. Very few will deny Rooney’s work ethic or talent for that matter.

The truth this is ambiguous as it’s completely subjective. What I'll simply accept, someone else may find very offensive. But I suppose that’s life. The bottom line is if you’re kid comes home ranting and raving just like his/her idol Wayne Rooney, instead of pointing the finger, perhaps just tell them not to do it, I believe they call that good parenting and if your not happy with that then...
f**k you, WHAT?

No comments:

Post a Comment