So with some pretty serious green spent and an FA cup medal to show, the City revolution has shifted up a gear. United fans can still justifiably mock, after all it’s just one trophy in some thirty odd years. But don’t be fooled this was a ‘watershed’ moment as Martin Tyler happened to mention once or twice in the lead up to the celebrations. Actually why we’re on the subject didn’t he have a bucket load of pointless facts about players nationalities with loose connections to the FA Cup!? Apparently Mancini is only the second Italian manager since Gianluca Vialli of Chelsea to win the FA cup. The Ivory Coast has apparently dominated the scorers the last few years. And my favourite Tevez was going to be the third Argentinean to win the cup, since Ozzie & Ricky back in 81. He couldn’t bring himself to say and here comes the fourth as Tevez was replaced for Zabaleta.
Unfortunately just like Martin’s stats that interlude was neither interesting or funny, let us never speak of it again, agreed.
Scoring the winner in both the Semi and the Final; Yaya Toure is apparently justifying his huge reported salary though I remain unconvinced. Scoring a hand full of goals and being ‘deceptively quick’ doesn’t warrant a quarter of mill a week. Or maybe it does if Maxi Rodriguez is still earning his crust playing football then everything’s possible. But then what do I know?
With City qualifying for the Champion league they are undoubtedly on the cusp of something special. It got me thinking about the potential strangle hold the two Manchester clubs could have on English and Europe football. Who has it better; United or City? Of course United have all that glorious history. I mean their fans are all too eager to tell anyone who’s prepared to listen and why not after securing that 19th league title. But I’m talking about the next 5 years. The fact is United fans are and will for the foreseeable future be alot harder to please, with success comes expectation. The League’s in the bag and a Champion's League final to look forward to and you know there’ll be some United fans shruggling their shoulders saying ‘Meh, but where’s the free flowing football’. Where as City have just won the FA cup and their fans will be doing the Pozmen for weeks. Will that ever get boring? I hope not. Still applying the logic that the grass is always greener. I wonder if some United fans are just a little envious knowing that City are now at the start of an incredible journey as it’s often the anticipation as apposed to the result that we most enjoy. Though United could argue they too are on a journey but they left a little earlier to beat the traffic. Plus what City fan wouldn’t give their right arm to have United’s recent history.
But I suppose that’s just our inquisitive nature we always want to see what it’s like from the other side. All bookies want to be Publicans and all Publicans want to be bookies. I mean everyone wants to be to different. Believe me all The Fonze ever really wanted wanted to do was make people laugh.
‘Hey Mrs C there’s two goldfish are in a tank. One says to the other, “Do you know how to drive this thing? ‘Aaay’.
No comments:
Post a Comment