Sunday, July 3, 2011

Tennis anyone?


OK so I thought I’d left it long enough I’ll have to write something about Wimbledon just to satisfy my Daily Mail royalist followers. We’ve already had the obligatory strawberries, cream and rain but thankfully this year no Cliff. He wasn’t invited, apparently it had nothing to do with the unconfirmed rumour that he complained that the ball boys looked too old and more to do with untimely out burst all those years ago. No-one wants to here Summer Holiday acapella (or from Fabio for that matter) and to emphasise that very point the LTA built a roof costing a few million pounds just to stop it happening again, take the hint Cliff.
Now I must confess I’m a closet tennis fan and have a lot of man love for Roger Federer, so my interest waned with his departure. I was pleased by his reaction though, no tears more dignity and apparently in the changing room he performed an excellent parody of Danny Glover character in Lethal weapon; dusting himself down and with classic Federer timing delivered the immoral line ‘I’m getting to old for this shit’ trust me Nadal piss’s himself at that little number.
I still can’t look at centre without thinking what a great 5 aside football pitch it would make but also what heritage and OK we didn’t invent tennis but it’s still considered the home of the game (give us something it’s not as if we’re any good at it). Which seamlessly leads me on to Andy Murray. That's a little unfair on the surly Scot, he been part of the established top 4 for a few years and he could argue that he’s bang unlucky being at his peak at the same time as Federer and Nadal, so credit were it’s due. But when life’s grossly unfair like that, you’ve just gotta laugh right? But he’s way to serious where his sense of humour?  I mean that attempted beard was pretty funny but he must have a heart of stone not to laugh at the ‘Come on Tim’ gags. 
Jo Wilfried Tsonga was a revelation embracing the very essence of Wimbledon with his athletic net game, leaping airborne even when it wasn’t really unnecessary, even Boris was impressed though he had just nipped back from the Nobu after lunch, so was in a good mood. Tsonga eventually lost out to a superior Djokovic who’s form this year may even have him slight favourite in the final but only if you were a little crazy, as he’s playing Nadal. My respect for Nadal increases with ever tournament I’d always judged him with an unfair Federer bias but in truth, if he’s not better he’s certainly on a par and it’s about time people started referring to him as the greatest of all time. It’s only a matter of time before he surpasses Fereder’s 16 slams and once us Federer fans accept that, the sooner we can really start to appreciate Nadal for what he is; the very embodiment of a true winner. So even if you’re rooting for Djokovic with alterior motive tomorrow just remember that Nadal will be considered an all time great so just let it happen and enjoy it. 
With all the hype about tomorrow final can you imagine if Murray had got there?Still it's not all bad news when it comes to British tennis, Laura Robson’s performed well and she could be the next great white hope. And word is we have a young lad; Liam Brady who’s made the boys final so here’s hoping! Oh and it turns out he’s got a mustard left foot and all..

No comments:

Post a Comment